2014 booklist

1-10 review
– Amie Kaufman: These Broken Stars – 4*

– Yangsze Choo: The Ghost Bride – 5*

– Rainbow Rowell: Eleanor and Park – 4*

– Veronica Roth: Divergent – 5*

– Veronica Roth: Insurgent – 5*

– Veronica Roth: Allegiant – 4*

– Mindy Kaling: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? – 1*

– Neil Gaiman: The Ocean at the End of the Lane – 4*

– John Green: The Fault in Our Stars – 2*

– Holly Black: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – 5*

11-15 review
– David Sedaris: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls – 4*

– Ernest Hemingway: The Old Man and the Sea – 3*

– Charlotte Bronte: Jane Eyre – 5*

– Chip Kidd: The Cheese Monkeys – 3*

– Lisa See: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan – 5*

16-20:
Cassandra Rose Clarke: The Mad Scientist’s Daughter — 3*

Janet Evanovich: One for the Money — 5*

Susan Ee: Angelfall — 5*

Susan Ee: World After — 5*

Liane Moriarty: Big Little Lies — 4*

I started to read The Mad Scientist’s Daughter based on a friend’s recommendation who reads hundreds of books, and she has recommended several good books to me already. Well, this wasn’t one of them. I’m surprised I have finished it. The reason why I still gave a fine rating to it because 1: I have still finished it, so it’s probably not that bad, several other books didn’t make this far; 2: I loved the way the writer painted the scenes, it was living in front of my eyes, such beautiful pictures with 3 words, 3 perfectly found words. Reading her writing was like watching a Final Fantasy scene. Incredibly beautiful. I didn’t like the story though. No, actually, I really hated the story. The fact that the main character found her enlightenment about love and life after a good orgasm tells everything about the book. Jupiter isn’t as far from me as this book with its values.

One for the Money, haha. : D I was watching the movie in front of the TV, joined a little after the start, and I was watching the movie and thinking “I’m so sure this is a book originally”. So at the next commercial break I turned it off and googled, and voilá, it is based on a book. I started reading it right at that moment, and finished it up pretty quickly. A light (“trashy” I could say) book, I have finished it and enjoyed, and the reason why it got its fifth star from me because I was laughing at several points while reading it. It made me laugh!

Angelfall and World After. Wow. This series is one of my love from this year. I chose it as my favorite from the year in my year summary, which I will share tomorrow. This series was my first angel themed book, and I suspect this series is also one of the best from this themed books overall. It was really good. The book is about the apocalypse. When God sends down his legion of angels to kill every human on the face of our Earth. The story starts weeks into this event. Sexy angels, with adonis figures, proud, majestic, well-mannered, high-class, with kick-ass martial skills, dangerous, merciless and killing everyone. Are you kidding me, I want more of this kind of stories! I ate those two books in no time, and I can’t wait the ending to come out in May.
Angels literally became the coolest thing ever.
Vampires and werewolves, tsch, no. Angels.

I don’t even know why did I start reading Big Little Lies. I probably liked the cover. : D I’m glad I started it though, because I liked it. And it also ended up to be a highly rated book of the year. I liked how the story wasn’t about love in the way it is in the books usually. It was more about friendship. And the lives of housewives, a world that’s really far from me and I don’t fancy it at all, so I’m surprised how I still liked the book. I’m, to be honest, fed up with books whose main character is a 16 years old selfish idiot, I intentionally was looking for books whose main character is at least over 20. But obviously if you are over 20 then you minimum have a child, and probably an ex-husband, so it’s pretty hard to find a story I can feel myself fitting into. Big Little Lies didn’t cure this problem, but I didn’t expect it to. Was entertaining though. There could have been thousands of other options to spend my time worse.

I have dropped several books during the year. Especially in the past 3 months. I didn’t manage to finish any book in the past 3 months. I tried, but dropped them after the first couple of chapters, or even pages. It’s probably I’m having the wrong mood (though for 3 months?), and not the fault of the books.
Dropped books were for example:
Carlos Ruiz Zafón: The Shadow of the Wind; Rainbow Rowell: Fangirl; Mark Helprin: Winter’s Tale; Sarah Addison Allen: Lost Lake; Jennifer McMahon: Winter People; Katie Heaney: Never Have I Ever; Maggie Stiefvater: Shiver; Zoe Sugg: Online Girl, etc.

So out of my 50 books challenge I have managed to finish only 20. I knew 50 is a little too strong for me, but I certainly expected I will be closer to it than I actually am in the end. But I did not expect I will have such long periods when every book makes me annoyed.
Next year I won’t challenge myself to any amount of books. But I still want to read some. If this block of mine passes finally. I hope it won’t take 8 years, like it did the last time.

Leave a Reply

