15/04

Untitled

So I really hate the lack of visual diary posts here, so I decided to try to pick this thing up again.

As I mentioned I went to Switzerland, though a little later because I was really worried I won’t make it in time for my exam, we put the trip for a little later. It was a pretty short trip, we had to do there some things, in Les Roches and Luzern, so we went to these two places.
When I was a kid we used to spend our summers in Switzerland. The excuse for that was that we lived in a city, and my parents thought we needed some fresh air to grow healthy. But in reality we just really liked to be there. So since I was 6 we started to spend our summer holidays there, and this tradition was kept until I got 16, for exactly 10 years. As I grew Switzerland became my favorite country, I loooooved it. I loved the mountains and the green, the clean waters, and the calm lifestyle people were living there. But I haven’t visited that country since the last summer we had there, so it’s been almost 10 years since the last time I have been there. Though I have visited and been living in a lot of countries since then, I also fell in love with Hong Kong and its’ urban mountains after that, but Switzerland has earned a really really precious place in my heart. I was ready to ditch my exam to go there, really. It was not my business to go there, I went as a free rider : D my brother went to check the unis he is about to apply to. Btw, I didn’t expect this but the Les Roches uni is amazing, really, if I wasn’t in love with my own profession I would consider about changing my career just to go that school, so I really understand why my brother decided to apply there. If you are someone who is interested in hotel management I definitely suggest you to check out Les Roches uni. (Below photo of the Les Roches winery. Because the uni has its own wine brand. Sounds exactly like my place.)

Untitled

What made our trip bitter is the car. In Austria our car decided to give up, two countries away from Switzerland. The fan broke. You can imagine what it was like going up mountains. Mountains is what Switzerland is made of. Exactly.
This was the first time I have ever seen a car do this visual effect. The first time it happened I jumped out from the car “I have to take a photo of this, so cool” – was what I said. At the 25th time, at 3am, in the middle of nowhere, fog and rain –Β my reaction was different already. The photo was taken at the first time, in Austria.

Untitled

So with a car like this we decided to fight the GPS navigation and make our route shorter through the mountains. The GPS wanted to take us on a 200km circle because of the highway, but our drivers decided we are more clever than that. This was actually a place we visited already once when I was a kid, so we knew these road exist. Unfortunately we had this car with us that now couldn’t climb mountains. We used up every drop of water we had with ourselves for the trip, and once we run out of it we used the water of the glaciers in the mountains to cool the car (don’t tell it to our car repairman that we didn’t use distilled water).

Untitled

The peaks were still full of snow, people skiing. See how much snow was there? Three times me. Beautiful. (That’s my dad gathering water in a bottle, with my brother.)
Unfortunately the other two passes through the mountain were closed due to avalanche danger, so in the end the GPS was right, and we had to go around the place, but since we were there already the only way we could go is to go through Italy (more mountains again). So we ended up with an about 500km circle instead of the original 200km. Do not question GPS.

Untitled

Untitled

Luzern isn’t my favorite place there. When I was a kid I used to think up different reasons why I want to stay at our place and not go to Luzern. The only city I really didn’t want to go, and I don’t even know why. Well, now we went. There is actually a chocolate shop we always bought chocolate at, the only thing I like there. I didn’t even doubt that shop will be still there after these 10 years. I was right, it was right there, in the same way it looked 15 years ago, and the chocolate there is what heaven tastes like.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Overall it was nice to be back there after all these years with an adult head. I saw a lot of things different, I saw it now how I over-romantized that country. In the past, and even as a kid, when people asked me where I want to live I said without hesitation that I want to live in Switzerland. Though it’s a beaaaaautiful place, and I really really love it, my favorite place in Europe and if I wanted to stay in Europe I really would have wanted to live there, that country is so precious. But I don’t want to live in Europe even if it’s Switzerland now I know, and this trip has kind of cleared that out for me. Living in Switzerland wouldn’t be my thing. But visiting Switzerland is something you can always count on me signing up for.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

