Auckland – Beach Haven

Untitled

I have finally moved in to the new apartment with my flatmate, in Auckland, Beach Haven. I fell for it because of the view. My room has the same view, this is where I’m drawing these days. The room is quite small so the table choices were limited, this was the biggest I could fit in. Which isn’t ideal, but enough.
I like how nature is the only thing I see when I look up. It’s summer. Palms, big butterflies sunbathing on them, birds, parrots. Lovely. Not festive at all, but lovely. : )

Untitled

I don’t like the carpet, but carpet seems to be something important in New Zealand, every house I have seen has carpet. Carpet is the least hygienic floor you can choose, and in such a humid country even —…  you can imagine what’s happening in there. I don’t know whose idea was this. It’s a really bad idea. Anyway, ours one is brand new, and I’m cleaning it in every 2-3 days, vacuum, and soap. It’s a hell lot of work, great exercise, but required. The fact that you don’t see the dirt doesn’t mean it’s not there, I really don’t like carpets. I also don’t like how it touches my feet. But that’s my personal thing: I have a sensitive relationship with textiles. There is only very few I can touch without feeling cold shiver running through my spine. That’s probably because I have an extremely dry skin.

Untitled

And this is an apartment, I miss the garden. I grew up in an apartment, but my family moved to a village 7 years ago, and first I remember I really didn’t like it – too dark and too silent. But I got so used to it when I was living at home. Now I really need that dead silence to fall asleep. Nature sounds to feel okay. Grass touching my feet. Have tea in the garden, breakfast in the sun outside. And the garden I can take care of once in a while. Most of the things I do are inside – designing, drawing. It does grow on me. So I used to go out in the garden those times, do a little gardening, cut some plants, pull out the unwanted ones – little things that turns your head off and keeps you busy. And my dog would be sitting or laying near, “protecting”.
I’m starting to miss it. I bought two plants I used to have at home too: wild mint and basil. I used to drink the mint, soak as a tea. Wild mint is like a weed, doesn’t require any care, and covers half of your garden, it’s even hard to get rid of it. So I decided it might be able to live in a pot on the balcony. I hope it can.
And basil, about which I’m slightly worried. That’s one of my favorite plant used for seasoning (coriander is the other one).

Untitled

Untitled

And we finally have internet. They connected it today. It took them overall a little more than 4 weeks. Yes. 2 weeks and 2 days since we moved in, but we requested to connect it almost 3 weeks before we moved in, while the apartment was under construction (painting, carpet) and empty. So I’m really unsatisfied with them. All this while of course we had to buy their mobilenet, spent a whole lot of money on that too – no wonder they didn’t rush with connecting. And when you try to call them it takes 40 minutes for them to pick it up. That happened couple of times. That’s 2degrees.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

But I love the view.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

